Committees and Rules

Commodore: Phil Whiston Hon. Secretary: Ted Vary
Vice Commodore:  Jim Atkins  Hon. Treasurer: Brian Horrocks
Rear Commodore:  Bridget Allen  Sailing Sec: Stuart Percival

Main Commitee (The Officers and Trustees (non-voting) plus elected members

  • Nick Woolley
  • Luke Ridout
  • Ian Wright
  • Derrick Thorrington
  • Richard Beasley
  • Brenda Barkway
  • Bob Atkins
  • Andrew Fellingham


House Management Sub-Committee*

  • Bridget Allen
  • Jim Atkins
  • Phil Whiston
  • Nick Woolley
  • Ian Wright
  • Andrew Fellingham
  • Brenda Barkway
  • Steve Bulbick (safety representative)

Moorings & Storage Sub-Committee*

  • Jim Atkins
  • Phil Whiston
  • Bridget Allen
  • Luke Ridout
  • Nick Woolley
  • Richard Beasley
  • Bob Atkins
  • Derrick Thorrington

Bar & Catering Sub-Committee*

  • Jim Atkins
  • Bridget Allen
  • Phil Whiston
  • Ted Vary
  • Andrew Fellingham

Socal Committee

  • Michaela Norris
  • Jon Norris
  • Matt Holloway
  • Vicky Lock
  • Olive French

* The Flag officers are automatically entitled to sit on Club Sub-Committees

Sailing Committee

Flag Officers

  • Sailing Secretary: Stuart Percival
  • Assistant Sailing Sec. TBA
  • David Yeabsley (Cruiser Class)
  • Mike Dickinson (Scow Class)
  • Luke Ridout (Class 4)
  • Ian Halliday (Hawk Class)
  • Lisa Booth (Topper Class)
  • Keith Barkway (Class 5)
  • Jack Acton (Junior Class)
  • Nick Woolley (Elected)
  • Jon Arnell (Elected)
  • Richard Beasley (Elected)

To Contact your class captain, or any member of the committee please go to: Contact Us  (The club office will put you in contact to the appropriate person)

Normal Meeting Times:

Officers: Meeting will be arranged according to need

Main Committee: 3rd Monday each month (except August)

Moorings & Storage: 2nd Monday of each month (except April & August)

House Management: 2nd Monday of each month (except April & August)

Bar &Catering: 1st Tuesday of each month (except April & August)

Sailing: 2nd Tuesday of each month

Prospective membership meetings: 2nd Thursday of each month, as required

Social: TBA


Each of the adopted sailing classes within Christchurch Sailing Club has a Class Captain. These Captains help organise the racing programme for their respective classes and will assist the Honorary Sailing Secretary with sailing issues which occur. The Sailing Committee is responsible for all Club sailing matters and usually meets on the second Tuesday of each month. The current Class Captains are listed below.


Class Captains

Cruiser David Yeabsley
Hawk Ian Halliday
Class 4 Luke Ridout
Junior Jack Acton
Ladies Joint Lisa Booth
Class 5 Keith Barkway
Scow Mike Dickinson



Honorary Sailing Secretary Stuart Percival
Assistant Sailing Secretary
RYA Trainining Principal Sally Davison
 Club Librarian  Romilly Meager
Cruiser Rally Co Ordinator
Summer Bosun
Winter Bosun Colin Bungey


The Club rules apply to all members and visitors.


To find the full Christchurch Sailing Club Rules and Bylaws please visit the Downloads section of the website where they can be found.

See below for a diagram of the management and committee structure.